Construction at Tuzigoot spanned over 300 years, from about 1100 to 1400 AD. The earliest construction consisted of a small number of rooms near the top of the hill, with new rooms added in an ad-hoc fashion as the population increased. At its peak in the late 1300s, the pueblo was 500 feet long, 100 feet wide, contained 86 ground floor rooms and 15 second story rooms, and probably housed as many as 230 people.
The name Tuzigoot is Apache for "Crooked Water". At one time the river flowed in a loop around the west side of Tuzigoot; but long before the arrival of man it changed its course, and now runs along the east side. The original riverbed to the west became a large, flat marsh (Tavasci Marsh), and was used by the Pueblo's inhabitants to grow crops of squash, corn and beans.
Tuzigoot was excavated in 1933-1934 by archaeologists Louis R. Caywood and Edward H. Spicer, aided in part by labor provided by the Federal Emergency Relief Agency's Civil Works Administration (CWA), an organization created during the Great Depression to provide employment for out-of-work Americans. Caywood and Spicer's report to the U.S. Department of the Interior, titled "Tuzigoot; The Excavation and Repair of a Ruin on the Verde River near Clarkdale, Arizona" (July, 1935), contains some fascinating details: